Mozambique assumes SADC´s rotating presidency of the Southern African Development Community

The African Nation of Mozambique has on Monday officially assumed the rotating presidency of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

at the opening ceremony of the 40th SADC summit held virtually in Maputo, Mozambican President Filipe Nyusi welcomed the opportunity to assume the rotating presidency of SADC, delivered by the President of Tanzania, John Magufuli, stressing that his country is committed to fulfilling this mission with dedication.

The fortieth Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was held under the theme “40 years building peace and security and promoting development and resilience in the face of global challenges”.

The Mozambican Head of State underscored the importance of this summit, as its decisions should drive the organization towards “new levels of prosperity and well-being” for the peoples of the region.

The SADC regional bloc is made up of countries such as Angola, South Africa, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Comoros, Swaziland, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EnglishSaudi Arabia